Travel Day – posted by Dale

4 03 2013

It is hard to believe that this trip that we have been talking and thinking about for such an incredibly long time is about to move beyond the realm of being just a mere dream, and that it is on the verge of becoming a reality that we can finally, actually, experience. But here we are, about to, at long last, begin living the dream.

 
Pam and I both feel very blessed that we not only have the opportunity to go ourselves on a pilgrimage to the Holy Land, but we also feel particularly blessed that we can take our eight year old daughter Zoë with us. We are both hoping that this experience will provide her with a better foundation for her faith, and some incredible lifetime memories to fondly recall and share with family and friends for the rest of the days of her life.
 
In preparation for this trip I have been doing some research and for me I have found that a DVD teaching series from “the Great Courses” series has been particularly useful. The one in particular that I have been using is entitled “The Holy Land Revealed” which features instruction provided by Professor Jodi Magness, a field trained and experienced archaeologist, who is well published and teaches at the University of North Carolina. I found her insights to be both relevant to our impending journey and very interesting and informative. Pam on the other hand, after having watched one of the 30 to 40 minute lectures, rolled her eyes and yawned at the thought of watching any additional informative discussions about the history and archaeology of the Holy Land.
 
Another great resource for me has been a former Young Life club kid (from Ottawa Hills, Ohio) turned archaeologist and professor, Dr. Judith Hadley, who, when I contacted her, graciously shared her insights with me over the course of numerous e-mails. I will always be envious of Judith because not only has she been able to go to all of these wonderful places, from the Ancient Near East, and literally shift through and touch all of that ancient history, but she personally made one of the most significant discoveries in Biblical Archaeology. And you don’t have to take my word on this, you can check it out on your own using this link to one of the websites that I came across while I was doing my research.  Top Ten Biblical Discoveries in Archaeology – #4 Ketef Hinnom Silver Amulet Scroll
 
I should mention that I met Judith back in 1971, when I first got involved as a volunteer in the Toledo Area Young Life program. She was a club kid in the Ottawa Hills Club, who is now a published professor at Villanova University, in the Theology/Religious Studies Department.
 
I have also used the “Biblical Archaeology Review” quite a bit in preparing myself for this trip. Both their magazine and their website have been extremely useful and interesting. I purchased several DVDs of their related discussions and studies on the history and archaeological research of the Holy Lands, but I confess that I have run out of time to view the material that I have purchased, so I will have to save that experience for after our trip.
 
So now there is no more time left for preparation and research for our trip. The hour is literally on hand for us to begin, what I hope and pray will be, our adventure of a lifetime.
Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

